Owlerton Stadium - Owlerton Greyhound Stadium - Sheffield's Premier Greyhound Race Track
Close this search box.

Owlerton ‘Oscars’ celebrate cream of Sheffield’s Greyhound industry

Reading Time: < 1 min

Sheffield’s top greyhounds, owners and trainers were honoured at a special event hosted by Owlerton Stadium.

More than 100 guests gathered at the Hillsborough racetrack for the second annual Owlerton Greyhound Owners Association (OGOA) awards night.

Sky Sports greyhound racing pundit and Racing Post journalist, Jonathan Hobbs, handed out the awards throughout the evening in recognition of track success during 2014.

The outstanding greyhound at each kennel associated with Owlerton received a greyhound of the year award.

Russ Warren’s Swift Aideen, Lisa Stephenson’s Ushers Ash, Jamie Smith’s Slaneyside Bonny, Our Bet, trained by Norman Melbourne, Ken Perrin’s Tiparban and Kowloon Mickey, trained by Barrie Draper, all picked up awards.

Accolades were also presented to Tony  McKenna’s Desert Ace, Gadget, trained by Mona Wainwright, Martin Cutler’s Sporting Tonga, Sean Davy with Mays Majestic and Slaneyside Stati, trained by Elaine Parker.

Bringithome, trained by Craig Hopkins, was crowned overall greyhound of the year after accumulating the most points throughout last year.

Dave Perry, general manager of Owlerton Greyhound Stadium, said: “The awards were a great way to celebrate a hugely successful 2014 for Owlerton both on and off the track. The evening was a real success with well over 100 owners and trainers in attendance.

“Bringithome, who was nearly 100 points clear of her nearest rival, was a worthy winner of the overall greyhound of the year award. She ran consistently throughout 2014, very rarely finishing outside the first three which made her a real crowd favourite.”

For more information visit https://owlertonstadium.co.uk/

SGW 2023 - Owlerton Stadium